12 .-- Lleutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1932, and Present Ministries-concluded.

BRITISH COLUMBIA.

LIBUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

| Name. | Date of Appointment. | Name. | Date of Appointment. |
|--|---|---|---|
| Clement F. Cornwall Hugh Nelson Edgar Dewdney Thomas R. McInnes | July 20, 1876 July 20, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897 | James Dunsmuir. T. W. Paterson. Sir Frank S. Barnard. Col. Edward G. Prior. Walter C. Nichol. R. Randolph Bruce. J. W. Fordham Johnson. | Dec. 3, 1909 Dec. 5, 1914 Dec. 9, 1919 Dec. 24, 1920 Jan. 21 1926 |

TWENTY-FIRST MINISTRY.

| Office. | Name. | Date of Appointment, |
|--|---|---|
| Premier and Minister of Railways. Provincial Secretary and Commissioner of Fisheries. Attorney-General. Minister of Lands. Minister of Finance and Minister of Industries. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Education. President of the Council. Minister without Portfolio. | Hon. R. H. Pooley, K.C. Hon. N. S. Lougheed Hon. J. W. Jones Hon. William Atkinson Hon. W. A. McKenzie. Hon. R. W. Bruhn Hon. J. Hinchliffe Hon. W. C. Shelly. | Aug. 21, 1928 Aug. 21, 1928 Oct. 29, 1930 Oct. 29, 1930 Aug. 21, 1928 Aug. 21, 1928 Oct. 29, 1830 Aug. 21, 1928 Oct. 29, 1830 Aug. 21, 1928 Oct. 29, 1830 |

THE TERRITORIES.

Norn.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assinibola, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these districts was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, on Sept. 1, 1935, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (Yukon and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the North West Territories and Yukon Division, Dominion Lands Administration, Department of the Interior. The Deputy Minister of the Department is, ex officio, the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories which comprises the three provisional districts.

| Name. | Date of Appointment. | Name. | Date of Appointment. |
|----------------------------|-------------------------|------------------|----------------------------|
| A. G. Archibald | May 10, 1870 | Joseph Royal | July I, 1888 |
| Francie Goodschall Johnson | April 9, 1872 | C. H. Mackintosh | Oct. 31, 1893 |
| Aletzander Morris. | Dec. 2, 1872 | M. C. Cameron | May 30, 1898 |
| David Laird. | Oct. 7, 1876 | A. E. Forget. | Oct. 11, 1898 |
| Edgar Dewdney | Dec. 3, 1881 | A. E. Forget. | Mar. 30, 1904 ¹ |

Second term.